“Pro Pasture Friday”

I believe that the ideas in Chris Hunt’s post to the blog ECO Centric on Gracelinks.org pertaining to Pro Pasture Friday are a great step forward in fighting factory farmed livestock. Chris Hunt is a blogger for Eco Centric and the senior policy advisor to the GRACE Communications Foundation. In his Blog post, Chris goes into some of the problems associated with industrial meat production, including but not limited to the damage it causes to the environment, the threats to public health it can produce as well as the ways it compromises animal welfare. Chris proposes that once a week on so call “Pro Pasture Friday” that people choose to eat only meat, eggs and dairy products produced by farmers who use sustainable pasture methods in raising their livestock. Personally I feel that this is a great idea. While I understand the negative effects and problems associated with factory farmed meat, I know that if I tried to switch completely off of factory farmed meats I wouldn’t make it a week. However if it was only once a week that I had to really try and focus on eating responsibly raised meat I think I could easily handle it. However, while I believe Chris’s solution is relatively good I would propose we take it one step further and add another day where we completely cut meat out of our diets. While I love meet and there is no way I could ever become a vegetarian, I think I can abstain from the wonder that is meat for one day a week. Having this meatless day would not only cut back on total meat consumed , but a Harvard study showed that not eating meat once a week can decrease your risk of heart disease by 19%. (Fitday.com)

Hunt, Chris. “GRACE Communications Foundation.” Web log post. GRACE Communications Foundation. N.p., 8 Aug. 2013. Web. 27 Sept. 2013. http://www.gracelinks.org/blog/2998/pro-pasture-friday.

N.A. “Meatless Monday: Cutting Out Meat One Day a Week.” / Nutrition / Healthy Eating. N.p., n.d. Web. 27 Sept. 2013. http://www.fitday.com/fitness-articles/nutrition/healthy-eating/meatless-monday-cutting-out-meat-one-day-a-week.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Pro Pasture Friday”

  1. scbo1838 says:

    I enjoyed this post and like how you keep things practical. I agree that cutting out meets all together sounds unreasonable and that only once a week is a good way to get started moving in the right direction.

Leave a Reply

